CROWEOLOGY | The Black Crowes

THE BLACK CROWES

TO RELEASE FIRST ACOUSTIC DOUBLE ALBUM, ‘CROWEOLOGY,’ AUGUST 3

BAND TO PERFORM ON THE ‘TONIGHT SHOW WITH JAY LENO’ AUGUST 3 AND ‘JIMMY
KIMMEL LIVE’ AUGUST 4

‘SAY GOODNIGHT TO THE BAD GUYS’ TOUR TO LAUNCH AUGUST 13

BAND TO BE INDUCTED INTO THE GEORGIA MUSIC HALL OF FAME SEPT. 11

BAND TO GO ON INDEFINITE HIATUS UPON COMPLETION OF TOUR

THE BLACK CROWES take flight like never before with their first-ever double album of all acoustic material, CROWEOLOGY.  Due out Tuesday, August 3, 2010 via band’s label Silver Arrow through Megaforce Records, it features new arrangements of their best-loved songs and the band’s catalogue picks.  The iconic and influential band will celebrate the album’s release that evening with a performance on “The Tonight Show with Jay Leno” and perform the next night, Wednesday, August 4, on “Jimmy Kimmel Live.”  Next, they’ll kick off a four-month North American tour August 13.  It will wrap Dec 19 with an epic six-night stand in San Francisco at The Fillmore December 12-19, after which Chris Robinson (vocals/guitar), Rich Robinson (guitar), Steve Gorman (drums), Sven Pipien (bass), Luther Dickinson (guitar) and Adam McDougall (keyboards) will go on a lengthy hiatus to catch their collective breaths and spend time with their families.
CROWEOLOGY spans THE BLACK CROWES’ revered catalog with acoustic renditions of 20 songs from their two decades of cosmic rock ‘n’ roll.  Commemorating the 20th anniversary of their landmark multi-platinum debut, 1990′s SHAKE YOUR MONEYMAKER, CROWEOLOGY gives listeners an intimate retrospective, stripping away these fan and band favorites like “Jealous Again,” “Remedy,” “She Talks To Angels” and “Wiser Time” to their very essence through brand new recordings, captured in 2009 at Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles. Given its scope and bright approach, the Paul Stacey-produced CROWEOLOGY is worth studying for both longtime fans and newcomers alike.

In order to thank fans for 20 years of support, CROWEOLOGY will be priced at the cost of a single album.  In addition, it will be available on vinyl and as an iTunes LP.  Listeners will get their first taste of CROWEOLOGY when “Jealous Again” and “Morning Song” hit radio this week. Following the album’s release, THE BLACK CROWES will hit the road–with multiple nights in many key markets–on their “SAY GOODNIGHT TO THE BAD GUYS” tour.  In most cities, the band will perform for three hours: a 90-minute “Acoustic Hors D’oeuvres” set, followed by a 90-minute “Electric Reception with THE BLACK CROWES.”

While on tour, The Black Crowes will be inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame on September 11 at the 32nd Annual Georgia Music Hall of Fame Awards Show. The official induction will feature a live performance by The Black Crowes.  Presented by Friends of Georgia Music Festival, Inc, the evening will take place at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in North Atlanta. The event marks the third decade that the non-profit organization has recognized Georgia’s accomplished artists and musicians for outstanding achievements. Tickets for the Georgia Music Hall of Fame Awards go on sale July 1 and can be purchased at http://www.cobbenergycentre.com, www.ticketmaster.com, http://livepage.apple.com/ or by calling 1-800-745-3000.

Don’t miss your chance to SAY GOODNIGHT TO THE BAD GUYS

Following is the full list of dates and venues for the SAY GOODNIGHT TO THE BAD GUYS 2010:

http://blackcrowes.com/

Fri Aug 13 Riverside Theatre Milwaukee, WI
Sat Aug 14 Northern Lights Casino Walker, MN*
Sun Aug 15 Zoo Amphitheatre Apple Valley, MN*
Tue Aug 17 Simon Estes Amphitheatre Des Moines, IA*
Wed Aug 18 Harrah’s Kansas City Kansas City, MO*
Fri Aug 20 The Fillmore @ The State Theatre Detroit, MI
Sat Aug 21 Chicago Theatre Chicago, IL
Sun Aug 22 Promowest Pavilion Columbus, OH
Tue Aug 24 House of Blues Cleveland, OH*
Wed Aug 25 The Murat Theatre Indianapolis, IN
Fri Aug 27 The Pageant St. Louis, MO
Sat Aug 28 Stir Cove Council Bluffs, IA*
Sun Aug 29 Fillmore Auditorium Denver, CO
Tue Aug 31 The Depot Salt Lake City, UT*
Wed Sep 1 Ryan Creek Meadows Missoula, MT
Thu Sep 2 Eagle River Pavilion Eagle, ID*
Sun Sep 5 Jazz Aspen Snowmass Festival Aspen, CO*
Mon Sep 6 Inn of the Mt Gods Resort & Casino Mescalero, NM
Wed Sep 8 Cain’s Ballroom Tulsa, OK*
Fri Sep 10 Family Circle Magazine Stadium Charleston, SC
Sun Sep 12 Ryman Auditorium Nashville, TN
Tue Sep 14 House of Blues Myrtle Beach, SC*
Wed Sep 15 Tennessee Theatre Knoxville, TN
Fri Sep 17 Raleigh Boutique Amphitheatre Raleigh, NC
Sat Sep 18 Uptown Amphitheatre @ The Music Factory Charlotte, NC
Sun Sep 19 Thomas Wolfe Auditorium Asheville, NC
Tue Sep 21 The Florida Theatre Jacksonville, FL
Wed Sep 22 House of Blues Lake Buena Vista, FL
Fri Sep 24 Verizon Wireless Theatre Houston, TX
Sat Sep 25 Stubb’s Austin, TX*
Sun Sep 26 House of Blues Dallas, TX*
Tue Sep 28 The Stiefel Theatre Salinas, KS
Thu Sep 30 Mud Island Amphitheatre Memphis, TN
Fri Oct 1 Beau Rivage Casino Biloxi, MS*
Sat Oct 2 Arkansas Music Pavilion Fayetteville, AR
Fri Oct 15 The Palace Albany, NY
Sat Oct 16 Seneca Allegany Casino Salamanca, NY*
Sun Oct 17 Count Basie Theatre Red Bank, NJ*
Tue Oct 19 Higher Ground Burlington, VT
Wed Oct 20 Higher Ground Burlington, VT
Fri Oct 22 House of Blues Boston Boston, MA
Sat Oct 23 House of Blues Boston Boston, MA
Sun Oct 24 Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom Hampton Beach, NH*
Tue Oct 26 Palace Theatre Waterbury, CT
Wed Oct 27 Massey Hall Toronto, ON
Fri Oct 29 Tower Theatre Philadelphia, PA
Sat Oct 30 Music Box @ Borgata Resort Atlantic City, NJ*
Sun Oct 31 Nokia Theatre Times Square New York, NY
Tue Nov 2 Nokia Theatre Times Square New York, NY
Thu Nov 4 Nokia Theatre Times Square New York, NY
Fri Nov 5 Nokia Theatre Times Square New York, NY
Sat Nov 6 Nokia Theatre Times Square New York, NY
Tue Nov 9 Weinberg Theatre Scranton, PA*
Wed Nov 10 Ram’s Head Baltimore, MD*
Fri Nov 12 North Shore Entertainment Complex Pittsburgh, PA
Sat Nov 13 9:30 Club Washington, D.C.
Sun Nov 14 9:30 Club Washington, D.C.
Tue Nov 16 The National Richmond, VA
Wed Nov 17 The Norva Norfolk, VA
Fri Nov 19 The Tabernacle Atlanta, GA
Sat Nov 20 The Tabernacle Atlanta, GA
Fri Dec 3 Arlene Schnitzer Concert Auditorium Portland, OR
Sat Dec 4 Emerald Queen Casino Tacoma, WA*
Sun Dec 5 The Knitting Factory Reno. NV
Tue Dec 7 The Arlington Theatre Santa Barbara, CA
Wed Dec 8 Spotlight 29 Casino Coachella, CA*
Fri Dec 10 The Joint Las Vegas, NV*
Sat Dec 11 Hollywood Palladium Los Angeles, CA
Sun Dec 12 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Tue Dec 14 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Wed Dec 15 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Fri Dec 17 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Sat Dec 18 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Sun Dec 19 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
(* = Electric Shows ONLY)