ROAD to BONNAROO

Road to Bonnaroo Returns for 2010 Round
32 Bands to Compete for 4 Festival Slots
The Road to Bonnaroo runs through 2010, picking up where its inaugural year left off, with one more slot up for grabs. The contest, sponsored by BMI, Mercy Lounge, Yuengling, Camping World, and the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival, will feature 32 bands with Nashville ties vying for four slots at Bonnaroo 2010, slated for June 10-13, in Manchester, Tennessee. The Road to Bonnaroo will take place over four designated nights of BMI’s free 8 off 8th showcase, with eight bands performing each night. Venue partner Mercy Lounge will host the live action litmus tests, slated for February 22, March 22, April 19 and May 17.
To select each evening’s top contender, an industry panel comprising local music journalists, bloggers, and 8 off 8th hosts will contribute one half of the verdict, while fan-voting through onsite ballots will determine the other half.
The 32 finalists for the 2010 Road to Bonnaroo competition are:

AutoVaughn http://autovaughn.com/
Born Empty http://www.myspace.com/bornempty
Brenn http://brennmusic.com/
Caitlin Rose http://www.myspace.com/caitlinrosesongs
Cassino www.myspace.com/cassinoband
Cheer Up Charlie Daniels http://www.myspace.com/cheerupcharliedaniels
Cortney Tidwell http://feverqueen.com
Delta Saints http://www.myspace.com/thedeltasaints
Dozen Dimes
Glossary http://www.glossary.us/
Hillbilly Casino www.thehillbillycasino.com
How I Became the Bomb http://www.howibecamethebomb.com/
Heartbeater http://www.myspace.com/beatyourheartup
Kyle Andrews http://www.myspace.com/kyleandrews
Leslie www.myspace.com/leslierock
Majestico http://www.myspace.com/majesticomusic
Mikky Ekko http://www.myspace.com/mikkyekko
Modoc http://www.myspace.com/modoc

Moon Taxi http://ridethemoontaxi.com/
My Tyger http://www.myspace.com/mytygermusic
Nobility http://www.myspace.com/thenobility
Non-Commissioned Officers http://www.myspace.com/thenoncommissionedofficers

Pico vs. Island Trees http://picomusic.com

Space Capone http://www.myspace.com/spacecapone
Tesla Rossa http://www.myspace.com/teslarossa
The Privates http://www.myspace.com/theprivates
The Silver Seas www.thesilverseas.net
The Effects http://www.myspace.com/theeffects
The Kicks http://www.myspace.com/thekicks
Turbo Fruits http://www.myspace.com/turbofruits

The Features, the Protomen, and Heypenny claimed last year’s three slots. Ultimately, in addition to promoting the town’s next crop of fresh faces, The Road to Bonnaroo competition uniquely celebrates the city’s homegrown and transplanted indie sounds—and thrusts the freshest faces, ready for their close-ups, out of the roost.
About Bonnaroo
The Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival is a four-day, multi-stage camping festival held on a beautiful 700-acre farm in Manchester, Tennessee every June. Bonnaroo brings together some of the best performers in rock and roll, along with dozens of artists in complementary styles such as jazz, Americana, hip-hop, electronica, and just about any contemporary music you can think of. In addition to dozens of epic performances, the festival’s 100-acre entertainment village buzzes around the clock with attractions and activities including a classic arcade, on-site cinema, silent disco, comedy club, theater performers, a beer festival, and a music technology village. For its peaceful vibe, near-flawless logistics, and unrivaled entertainment options, Rolling Stone magazine named this revolutionary entertainment experience one of the 50 moments that changed the history of rock and roll.
www.bonnaroo.com
About 8 off 8th
BMI proudly presents “8 off 8th,” the free weekly showcase held 9 p.m. every Monday at Nashville music venue Mercy Lounge (1 Cannery Row, off 8th Avenue South). Hosted by a rotating lineup of music community impresarios, each night features eight local (and sometimes nationally touring) artists and serves as ground zero for Nashville’s bourgeoning indie rock scene. Whether it’s launching fledging acts fresh out of the garage or showcasing the latest buzz bands, 8 off 8th’s rapid-fire three-song sets satisfy audiences chasing the next big thing.
www.bmi.com

One Response to “ROAD to BONNAROO”

  1. Leydys Florence says:

    Thanks for the absorbing read! Alright playtime is over and back to school work.

Leave a Reply