Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

Tell ‘Em What Your Name Is!

Contributing Writer : Garret K. Woodward

It’s so funky you can smell it.

Running with the baton handed to them by the late James Brown, the eight-piece “garage soul” outfit (from Austin, Texas) bursts out of the speakers like a shotgun blast. Their utter assault on honky-tonk blues, R&B and soul makes panties drop and bloody brawls ensue. Flagship melody “Sugarfoot” is quite possibly one the catchiest pieces of music ever to come across the airwaves. Led by the charmingly devilish Black Joe Lewis, the octet is clearly educated by the likes of Ike & Tina Turner, Wilson Pickett, Otis Redding and Lightning Hopkins.

Yet, the thing most striking about this entity is the mere fact of the youthful exuberance involved in the project. These 20-somethings and early 30s playboys have raised the bar in an often difficult genre to interpret. The effort comes off with such ease and finesse one can only suspect success and adoration for this ensemble of beautifully chaotic funk.

Leave a Reply